Awoken

According to http://www.addictioncenter.com, addiction replacement, or addiction transfer, is when a new addiction takes the place of a previously addictive behavior to produce the same feeling or high. “Everyone who’s battled an addiction understands the concept: You go from smoking to eating; from drinking to shopping; from sex to chocolate to working. You’re substituting one addiction for another in an attempt to compensate for a perceived ‘lack’- emotionally or psychologically.” – Jeaneane Swanson, The Fix

Addictions can very easily be transferred from one substance or habit to another. This is because individuals who have an addiction aren’t craving a physical substance, they’re craving the fulfillment of an emotional need. It’s fascinating to realize that not all substance abuse is necessarily addiction because there is a difference between addiction and physical dependence.

Lately I’ve begun to realize that I am finding random things to obsess over to get the same emotional response as I get/used to get from eating my favorite foods. I haven’t been eating enough or sleeping much this week. It’s almost as if I’ve been living in a constant adrenaline rush. I guess I’ve just been thinking of all of life’s endless possibilities and feeling so pumped to get out there and do it all. I feel like I’ve been asleep for ages and have finally just awoken. I have a whole lot of catching up to do and I am so ready to get started.

 

download

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

