Confessions of a Foodaholic

Recently I have been asked by several people what my weight loss secret is. There is no secret to successfully dropping the pounds. It is all hard work and determination. Whenever asked if I have any advice, I pretty much always say the same thing. No matter what, we can NEVER GIVE UP!!!! Our health is much too important to be given up on. Bad decisions don’t have to mean the end of our weight loss journey. We all slip up. It happens. Fall down 7 times, stand up 8!!! It takes a much braver person to pick themselves up, brush themselves off and keep on fighting!

When I was a preschool teacher, we did our best to avoid using the word “no” when reprimanding the children. Instead, we would say to them, “That is not a choice.” That is basically how I am re-wiring my mindset towards overeating and making unhealthy choices. It is not a choice for me. This is the way I live my life now. I want to be healthy and live my life to its fullest and eating right and staying active is the only way I will be able to achieve that.

For the very first time in my lifelong fight against obesity, I do not feel like I am prisoner to a “diet” or that I’m missing out. Quite the contrary, as a matter of fact. For the very first time… I finally feel free.

2 responses to “Confessions of a Foodaholic

Leave a Reply

