Painfully True

I decided when I started this blog that I don’t want to write entries just to simply write blog entries. I only want to write when I am feeling it. This isn’t so much one of those times. This is more of an explanation of sorts. Right now my life is changing in so many ways. The enormity of these changes in my life is setting in more day by day, and, while I know these changes are for the best, I am terrified nonetheless.

Yesterday my counselor said that one being an “open book” is not a good thing. He said that if we share everything about ourselves with everyone then it makes our close relationships less important. I have to respectfully disagree. I feel like if I share myself with the world then maybe I can help someone out there in their journey on this crazy planet. One of the biggest things that has helped me in my life is hearing other people’s stories. I’ve always said if I can somehow help even one person feel better about themselves, then it’s all been worth it. I’ve had several people tell me that hearing my story has helped them stay strong in their journey. That is good enough for me.

What my grandma said to me when I told her that Eddie and I were getting a divorce has been running through my mind all day today. “Knowing that something is the right thing doesn’t make it any easier.” As our divorce is now final and he is going to be going back to NY with his parents in a little over a week, I can’t help but think about how what Gramma said was so painfully true.

2 responses to “Painfully True

  1. Hello! I watched your speech on Kim’s facebook page which is how I found your blog. I also attend one of Kim’s WW classes so I’m losing – or trying – to lose weight as well. Your story is definitely inspirational. I think the things you say – many people can relate to. Like when you said people were treating you differently after you lost weight and you feel like they should have been treating you that way all the way along. I get it. I wish you lots of luck in your weight loss journey. It sounds like you’ve got your head in the right place. I had kind of a hard week this week but I’m just trying to keep my head in the game as well. Just one day at a time!

    • Hi Christina,
      Thank you! 🙂 I’ve been struggling lately too but have also been trying to do my best. You are so right about taking it one day at a time.
      That is too funny that you work with Don. When Don watched that video of my speech thing he recognized Kim right away. Turns out they’ve been friends for a really long time but had lost touch over the last several years. That got us to talking about how it’s such a small world. That it is indeed! 🙂

Leave a Reply

