Renewed

One of my favorite things about my home after I had first bought it was the fact that it has a screened-in porch in the back. For one reason or other, I have never really used it much. As a matter of fact, for years now I have hardly been in my backyard at all… or the front, for that matter.

For the first few years after I moved here I kept the 3 season porch looking pretty nice. Somewhere along the line depression took over and I just let it get crowded full of junk. I struggle a lot with black and white/all or nothing thinking. At certain points in my life I have let it get the best of me. For instance, my first reaction when I see a sink full of dishes is that I can never do all of those dishes so now we are just going to have a dirty kitchen and never have clean dishes again (then I do them and realize it was really not that big of a deal at all). When I deviate from the Weight Watchers plan, even a little, I feel like I should just eat everything I want for the rest of the day… and feel like I need to cram in as many sinful foods as possible within that waking day. Those are just a couple examples of the way my mind tends to work. Anyway, just giving a bit of insight as to how I could let my lovely back porch go to the wayside for years.

Recently I took Mike and Don out to show them the back porch and they mentioned that we really should clean it up and utilize it. I told them about how it was one of the selling points of this house for me and then I had just let it get out of hand because getting it up to par seemed so daunting. They said that they would come over sometime and help us get it cleaned out and decorated.

Once back in the house they noticed a beautiful crystal chandelier type decoration. I’d had it tucked away until I could find a good place for it. Mike took it out to the back porch and hung it up on a hook hanging from the middle of the ceiling. It looked so beautiful out there and gave me hope that it could be nice back there again… or dare I say, even nicer than ever before?

Saturday afternoon I came home from the tea to find Don and Mike out back going all kinds of HGTV on our porch! Don had taken tablecloths that look like white lace curtains and stapled them up to the windows over the pretty floral tapestries they had put up last week. D’s pretty, sleek black gold-trimmed table sits in the center of the porch surrounded by various chairs. The big, beautiful smiley face rug that Don made for D is hanging on the porch wall that is the outside of the house. Everything is centered around the gorgeous, purple and clear crystal chandelier. Don brilliantly turned it in to an actual working chandelier by hanging white Christmas lights in a bunch down through the center of it. It looks stunning, especially at night.

Yesterday Laura, Josh and Wally took me to get a new grill since I’ve been wanting one. I picked out one on the smaller side, which I am happy about so that it is easy to roll out of the porch when we’re going to use it and then back in the porch when not in use. Last night Josh grilled out hot dogs and we had a nice little picnic out there at the table. He and Wally had to leave for a show that Josh’s band was putting on, but the rest of us sat at the table out there and played Boggle and several games of Apples to Apples (LOVE that game!).

As the evening progressed, our friend Donovan showed up and joined us and then a bit later Don and Mike showed up and we all had a great time playing Apples to Apples. That game is way too much fun! Just make sure your friend’s little brother doesn’t write naughty words on the blank cards. That makes for an awkward situation when playing the game with your little sisters and their mom. heheheΒ  πŸ™‚

So, I am rather happy to report that my back porch, like my life, is renewed! I am saying goodbye to letting my depression get the best of me and bring me down and hello to my new life full of possibilities and promise! Praise the Lord! He is good ALL THE TIME!!!

2 responses to “Renewed

  1. I LOVE MY SMILEY FACE!!! πŸ™‚ And dude, the porch wasn’t overrun by junk. It was MY STUFF!! πŸ™‚ We’ve already had that argument, though. hehehe πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

