Anchors, Wings and Involuntary Screams

Tonight Laura, her little sister-in-law Holly and I went swimming at the indoor pool in Urbandale. We ran into some girls about Holly’s age whom we had met before and had a lot of fun playing “Marco Polo” and saying words underwater and guessing what was said. It’s fun to be a kid again every now and then. 🙂

Once when I was in a Weight Watchers meeting when I was a teenager my former leader Anne mentioned that it is a good idea to have an anchor in your weight loss journey. Having something as a physical reminder of what you are striving for can be a great motivator. I’ve tried using different things as my weight loss anchors throughout the years but nothing ever really had a lot of significance to me.

Lately I have been wearing a pretty ring that Laura’s sister Emily gave her and she is letting me borrow. I’ve come to realize that this ring has become an anchor for me. My fingers have never been this small in my adult life, not even when I was 70 lbs lighter than I am now. This ring looks so tiny to me that my brain cannot comprehend how it fits on my finger. So, every time I feel or see the ring on my finger it reminds me of how far I have come. On that note, I’ve decided that my “wings” are nothing to be ashamed about… They too are reminders of my accomplishments! It’s truly fascinating to hold up my arm and be able to clearly see where my actual arm stops and the loose skin begins. These wings are anchors that I do not plan on holding onto, however. Can we say nip/tuck?   🙂

Oh yeah! I can’t forget to mention this! Non-Scale Victory Alert!!!!!!!! Even more than that, I overcame a fear tonight. I… drumroll, please… Jumped off a diving board twice!!!!!! Yes, folks, it is true. I asked one of the lifeguards if the diving board had a weight limit and she said, “I’m not sure, but I’ve seen a lot of… big people jump off it.” That was all the OK I needed. I figured I had talked myself into it and I had better get over there and do it before I chickened out! I couldn’t believe how high in the air I bounced before flying down to the water… each time letting out a loud, involuntary scream! It was such a rush!!!

One response to “Anchors, Wings and Involuntary Screams

  1. I just realized that I am addicted to food and I’m trying to figure out how to start living healthy again. So many friends have told me what to do, but it all sounds like “blah blah blah…yadda yadda yadda”. I need to find a path.

Leave a Reply

