Hello world!

So, I have finally decided to start blogging again. I used to blog all the time on MySpace but I am hardly ever on there these days and thus have not blogged in quite a long time. I love Facebook, but, for one reason or other, writing “notes” on there is just not the same. So, here I am, writing again. I may be rusty, but I am going to give this my best and see what comes of it. What shall I write about? As of yet, I have no idea. Are you intrigued yet?  😉

I figure I will start out by introducing myself. My name is Jennifer. I am 29 years old. I live in West Des Moines, Iowa. I have a 4 year old Shih Tzu named NdNd (pronounced “In-Dun-Duh”). She was named after the queen of the planet Omicron Persei 8 on the tv show Futurama. I have a 15 or 16 year old cat named Tigger. They are my babies and I’d do anything for them. Both of my parents are deceased. I am thankful to have grandparents, aunts and uncles and friends whom I love very much. I have 4 younger half-sisters. Missy is the oldest, followed by Stephanie, Emilee and Halee. They are all beautiful and strong and I love them dearly. I also have 4 nephews and a niece whom I love very much as well. Right now I am in the process of getting divorced. My soon-to-be ex husband and I met online in Dec. of 2006 and got engaged after only talking for a couple of months (before we’d ever met in person). He moved here to Iowa from Rochester, NY and we were married 5 months later. We married each other because we were both lonely and figured we were both nice people so why not, right? Well, of course, now we both know that was not the greatest idea. However, we’ve both learned and grown from the experience and are still good friends. We both came to the realization that we are not meant to be  together as husband and wife or even as a couple. We are more like brother and sister than anything. We want to give ourselves and each other the opportunity to find our real soulmates one day. So, one chapter of my life has closed and another has begun. I am excited for what my future holds, as I know my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ has a plan for my life. Jeremiah 29:11 says that He has a plan full of hope for our future. That powerful verse has gotten me through the toughest times in my life.

As I write this, ideas of more things I want to write about are flooding into my head. At some point, I want to write about what it was like when I found out that each of my parents had died, for one thing. I also want to write about my lifelong weightloss journey, of course. At some point I think I will share some of my poetry here. There are endless possibilities.  🙂

I’ll tell you all a few more things about myself before I end this. I went to Des Moines Christian School from 1st grade until halfway through my junior year. At that point, I was failing algebra II and was not going to be able to graduate with my class in 2000 like I was supposed to. So, I looked into public schooling and found that I almost had enough credits to graduate from public schools. I switched over to Roosevelt High School, and, instead of being second semester junior, I was suddenly a second semester senior and graduated that year in 1999 when I was 17. After that, I attended Grand View College and majored in communications for 1 year.

Over the years I have worked with infants and preschool aged children and I know that that is my calling. Nothing lights up my life quite like little ones do! For years and years now, people have asked me why I don’t have any children of my own, considering I love them so much. Well, it’s just not that simple. I don’t want to have children with just any man. I want to wait until God brings “The One” into my life. I want to give my children what I never had… a nuclear family. I want my children to have not just 1 but 2 loving parents. I may be nearing 30 years old, but I know that does not have to mean that I can’t be a mother someday. God’s will be done, and if that is for me to have children of my own someday, then it will happen. If not, then He will give me the strength and peace that I will need to accept that.

Well, I don’t want to make this a novel. At this point, I figure not many will read through this entire entry anyway. If you have, thanks.  🙂  I will write more later. Tune in next time! hehe

2 responses to “Hello world!

  1. Hey! Cash checks for free! Get your own mail order bride! Work from home!

    hehehe I wanted to Spam you.

    D 🙂

    • LOL!!! I had forgotten that I left this comment and wondered why it looked like I spammed you. Man I even fool myself!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

